IndyCar 2024 driver lineup: What’s confirmed, what isn’t?

Marcus Ericsson, Chip Ganassi Racing, Romain Grosjean, Andretti Autosport, IndyCar (Photo by Greg Doherty/Getty Images)
Marcus Ericsson, Chip Ganassi Racing, Romain Grosjean, Andretti Autosport, IndyCar (Photo by Greg Doherty/Getty Images) /

Following the 2023 season finale, there are still several open seats in the 2024 IndyCar driver lineup. Here’s a rundown of what we know so far.

Several big-name IndyCar teams signed several big-name free agents leading up to the 2023 season finale at Laguna Seca a few weeks ago, and silly season has continued into the offseason.

But there is still quite a bit to be determined about the series’ driver lineup for the 2024 season as the fall and winter months progress.

Let’s take a look at each of the sport’s 10 teams, what we know, and what we’re still waiting on regarding each.

2024 IndyCar driver lineup

A.J. Foyt Enterprises

Benjamin Pedersen was said to have signed a multi-year contract, but there is speculation that he might not be back for a second season behind the wheel of the No. 55 Chevrolet. As for Santino Ferrucci, he and the team are reportedly working on a new deal to keep him in the No. 14 Chevrolet.

Andretti Global

Colton Herta and Kyle Kirkwood are both set to return, while Marcus Ericsson is set to replace Romain Grosjean after coming over from Chip Ganassi Racing. Devlin DeFrancesco won’t be back, but there is a chance that the team won’t replace him and will instead remain at three cars.

Arrow McLaren

Replacing Felix Rosenqvist with Alex Palou once seemed like a foregone conclusion. Although the latter decided to stay at Chip Ganassi Racing, they still opted to replace Rosenqvist, but with David Malukas. The former Dale Coyne Racing driver is set to join the returning Pato O’Ward and Alexander Rossi.

Chip Ganassi Racing

Aside from Palou and Scott Dixon being back, the latter having never been in question, IndyCar’s top team will have a whole new look in 2024.

Rookie Linus Lundqvist is set to replace Ericsson after making just a handful of starts with Meyer Shank Racing in 2023, Marcus Armstrong is set to go from part-time to full-time driver, and a fifth car has been added for development driver Kyffin Simpson.

Dale Coyne Racing

With Malukas out, nothing is confirmed about Dale Coyne Racing’s lineup for 2024. Sting Ray Robb could still return, but Danial Frost has long been rumored to take over his seat. This team is also one of several said to have interest in DeFrancesco.

Ed Carpenter Racing

Rinus VeeKay is under contract through 2024, but Ryan Hunter-Reay won’t be back after being hired by the team to help them elevate their overall performance amid a period of struggle.

The list of names linked to the No. 20 Chevrolet is relatively lengthy, but the three that make the most sense are reigning Indy NXT champion Christian Rasmussen, former Indy NXT champion and IndyCar driver Oliver Askew, and Simon Pagenaud, who may still be looking to stay in the series following his departure from Meyer Shank Racing — if healthy enough to do so.

Juncos Hollinger Racing

Callum Ilott is said to have a contract to return in 2024, and after not being signed by any of the other big teams, he will probably be back. What remains to be seen is if the funding is there for Agustin Canapino to return for a second season — and if the funding is even there for the team to continue to run two cars at all.

Meyer Shank Racing

As they aim for a complete 180-degree turn following a massively disappointing 2023 season, Meyer Shank Racing completed their lineup overhaul by signing Tom Blomqvist to replace Helio Castroneves, who is now a minority owner of the team and still plans to compete in the Indy 500, and Rosenqvist to replace Pagenaud.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing still have arguably the most coveted seat available, which would have seemed bizarre to think about a few months ago amid their struggles. Will they pick someone other than late-season Jack Harvey replacement Juri Vips to partner Christian Lundgaard and Graham Rahal?

Team Penske

The only team without any silly season drama whatsoever this past season was Team Penske, which plan to bring back Josef Newgarden, Scott McLaughlin, and Will Power.

Next. All-time IndyCar wins list. dark

The 2024 IndyCar schedule has not yet been released, but the season is expected to begin in March on the streets of St. Petersburg, Florida as it did this year.