Formula 1: 2020 driver lineup set

The 2020 Formula 1 driver lineup is set following the confirmation of Nicholas Latifi at Williams as the replacement for Robert Kubica.

There are 20 seats among 10 teams on the 2020 Formula 1 grid, and after a rather tame Silly Season compared to what last year had to offer, all 20 seats have been confirmed.

The 20th and final seat to be confirmed wasn’t originally supposed to be confirmed before the 2019 season ended, and that seat was the second seat at ROKiT Williams Racing.

Williams previously stated that they would make their decision as to who to pair with George Russell to replace the outgoing Robert Kubica after the season-ending Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, which is scheduled to take place this Sunday, December 1 at Yas Marina Circuit.

Instead, they confirmed on Thanksgiving Day that Nicholas Latifi, who has been heavily speculated to land this ride for the past several months, will move up from Formula 2 to round out the 2020 grid.

As a result, the 2020 driver lineup is completely set even with the 2019 season not yet in the books.

Of the 20 drivers on this year’s grid, 18 are set to return to the same teams next year, just one year after only eight drivers stayed put, six more swapped teams and six more were replaced by six newcomers.

Two others are set to enter Formula 1 and replace two outgoing drivers. Latifi is the only new driver who is actually a rookie, as the other one, Esteban Ocon, is set to drive for Renault as the replacement for Nico Hulkenberg having spent a few seasons competing in Formula 1 before, most recently in 2018 for Racing Point.

Here is the full 2020 Formula 1 driver lineup.


  • Lewis Hamilton – #44
  • Valtteri Bottas – #77


  • Sebastian Vettel – #5
  • Charles Leclerc – #16

Red Bull Racing

  • Alexander Albon – #23
  • Max Verstappen – #33


  • Lando Norris – #4
  • Carlos Sainz Jr. – #55


  • Nico Hulkenberg – #27
  • Esteban Ocon – #31

Alpha Tauri

  • Pierre Gasly – #10
  • Daniil Kvyat – #26

Racing Point

  • Sergio Perez – #11
  • Lance Stroll – #18

Alfa Romeo Racing

  • Kimi Raikkonen – #7
  • Antonio Giovinazzi – #99


  • Romain Grosjean – #8
  • Kevin Magnussen – #20


  • George Russell – #63
  • Nicholas Latifi – #TBA


Want your voice heard? Join the Beyond The Flag team!

Write for us!


The 2019 Formula 1 season is scheduled to end this Sunday, December 1 with the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix at Yas Marina Circuit on Yas Island in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, and the 2020 season is scheduled to get underway on Sunday, March 15 with the Australian Grand Prix at Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit in Albert Park, Melbourne, Australia.