NASCAR: Daytona 500 restarting lineup after 20 laps

Rain caused the Daytona 500 and the start of the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series season to be postponed after just 20 laps. Who will be running where when the race resumes?

Multiple delays, a weather forecast that was not promising and a late downpour to seal the deal all played a role in the postponement of the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series season-opening Daytona 500 at Daytona International Speedway.

After several hours of back and forth in regard to rain or shine, drivers in or out of the cars and cars on or off the track, NASCAR made the decision to move what was supposed to be Sunday afternoon’s race to today.

Fox is set to broadcast the rest of the race live beginning at 4:00 p.m. ET.

Amid all of Sunday’s chaos, however, 20 of the scheduled 200 laps around the four-turn, 2.5-mile (4.023-kilometer) high-banked superspeedway oval in Daytona Beach, Florida were contested.

So how will the field line up when the green flag flies later today?

JTG Daugherty Racing’s Ricky Stenhouse Jr., who took the pole position for the race, did not relinquish the lead, coming across the start/finish line ahead of the rest of the field on all 20 circuits behind the wheel of his #47 Chevrolet.

Hendrick Motorsports’ Alex Bowman, who started alongside of Stenhouse in second place, fell back to 16th in his #88 Chevrolet. It was Bluegreen Vacations Duel 1 winner Joey Logano of Team Penske who worked his way up from third to second behind the wheel of the #22 Ford, just ahead of Stewart-Haas Racing’s Aric Almirola in third behind the wheel of the #10 Ford.

Here is how the field will stack up to restart the 62nd running of the “Great American Race” at the “World Center of Racing”.

Running order
1st – Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
2nd – Joey Logano
3rd – Aric Almirola
4th – Ryan Newman
5th – Kevin Harvick
6th – Brad Keselowski
7th – William Byron
8th – Jimmie Johnson
9th – Ty Dillon
10th – Timmy Hill
11th – David Ragan
12th – Chris Buescher
13th – Matt DiBenedetto
14th – Chase Elliott
15th – Ross Chastain
16th – Alex Bowman
17th – Kyle Larson
18th – Kurt Busch
19th – Austin Dillon
20th – Cole Custer
21st – Michael McDowell
22nd – Tyler Reddick
23rd – Ryan Blaney
24th – Darrell Wallace Jr.
25th – Reed Sorenson
26th – B.J. McLeod
27th – Corey LaJoie
28th – Brendan Gaughan
29th – Ryan Preece
30th – Justin Haley
31st – Martin Truex Jr.
32nd – Kyle Busch
33rd – Erik Jones
34th – Christopher Bell
35th – Denny Hamlin
36th – Clint Bowyer
37th – John Hunter Nemechek
38th – Quin Houff
39th – Joey Gase
40th – Brennan Poole

Tune in to Fox at 4:00 p.m. ET this afternoon for live coverage of the resumption of the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series season-opening Daytona 500 at Daytona International Speedway.