NASCAR: The 7 tracks that won’t host any races in 2020

Several tracks which were originally on the 2020 NASCAR schedule will not have the chance to host any races this season due to the coronavirus pandemic.

NASCAR has been playing catch-up with their original 2020 schedules for the Cup Series, Xfinity Series and Truck Series over the last several months due to the fact that the 2020 season was halted after the Sunday, March 8 Cup Series race at Phoenix Raceway as a result of the coronavirus pandemic.

After that race, there was no more action for 10 weeks. A previously non-scheduled Cup Series race at Darlington Raceway got things back underway on Sunday, May 17.

Following the release of four separate installments of the return to racing schedule, the Cup Series now has a full 36-race schedule again.

Meanwhile, there is still work to do for the Xfinity Series schedule and the Truck Series schedule, as the former currently sits at 31 races, two shy of a full 33-race schedule, while the latter currently sits at 19 races, four shy of a full 23-race schedule.

But because of these many schedule changes, visiting every venue that had initially been on the schedule simply wasn’t possible. As a result, a total of seven tracks which were originally on the schedule for at least one of these three series this year will not end up hosting any races in 2020.

Here is a list of those seven tracks.

Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course was scheduled to host an Xfinity Series race on Saturday, May 30. That race will not take place, although it has not yet been announced where and when its replacement race will take place.

Iowa Speedway

Iowa Speedway was scheduled to host a Truck Series race on Friday, June 12. That race was moved to the Daytona International Speedway road course on Sunday, August 16.

The track was also scheduled to host two Xfinity Series races, one on Saturday, June 13 and another on Saturday, August 1. The former was moved to Homestead-Miami Speedway on Sunday, June 14 (following a rescheduled race at the track on Saturday, June 13) while the latter was moved to Kansas Speedway on Saturday, July 25.

Sonoma Raceway

Sonoma Raceway was scheduled to host a Cup Series race on Sunday, June 14. But that race was moved to Charlotte Motor Speedway on Wednesday, May 27, although it ended up taking place on Thursday, May 28 as a result of rain.

Chicagoland Speedway

Chicagoland Speedway was scheduled to host a Truck Series race on Friday, June 19, an Xfinity Series race on Saturday, June 20 and a Cup Series race on Sunday, June 21.

The Truck Series race was moved to Kansas Speedway on Saturday, July 25 (following a rescheduled race at the track on Friday, July 24) while the Xfinity Series race and Cup Series race were moved to Darlington Raceway on Tuesday, May 19 (postponed to Thursday, May 21 due to rain) and Wednesday, May 20, respectively.

Eldora Speedway

Eldora Speedway was scheduled to host a Truck Series race on Thursday, July 30. That race will not take place, although it has not yet been announced where and when its replacement race will take place.

Watkins Glen International

Watkins Glen International was scheduled to host an Xfinity Series race on Saturday, August 15 and a Cup Series race on Sunday, August 16. Both races were moved to the Daytona International Speedway road course on the same dates.

Next: Top 10 NASCAR drivers of all-time

Canadian Tire Motorsport Park

Canadian Tire Motorsport Park was scheduled to host a Truck Series race on Sunday, September 6. That race will not take place, although it has not yet been announced where and when its replacement race will take place.

Load Comments