NASCAR: Kansas starting lineup – Kevin Harvick on pole

Kevin Harvick drew the pole position for Thursday night’s Super Start Batteries 400 NASCAR Cup Series race at Kansas Speedway.

The second half of the 36-race 2020 NASCAR Cup Series season is set to get underway at Kansas Speedway with the Super Start Batteries 400 this Thursday evening, and it is set to get underway with Stewart-Haas Racing’s Kevin Harvick leading the field to the green flag in his #4 Ford.

Harvick took the pole position for this 267-lap race around the four-turn, 1.5-mile (2.414-kilometer) oval in Kansas City, Kansas via a random draw, the 11th random draw in 15 races since the sport returned to action following unexpected 10-week hiatus caused by the coronavirus pandemic from early March to mid-May.

Harvick had not yet taken a pole position via a random draw this season. He is set to start alongside Team Penske’s Joey Logano in second place in his #22 Ford.

Ford drivers swept the top four positions, as they locked out the second row as well. Like the front row, the second row is also set to feature a Stewart-Haas Racing driver and a Team Penske driver, as Aric Almirola is set to start in third place in his #10 Ford while Ryan Blaney is set to start in fourth in his #12 Ford.

The highest drawing Toyota driver, Joe Gibbs Racing’s Martin Truex Jr., and the highest drawing Chevrolet driver, Hendrick Motorsports’ Alex Bowman, are set to share the third row in fifth and sixth place in their #19 Toyota and #88 Chevrolet, respectively.

Team Penske’s Brad Keselowski, Joe Gibbs Racing’s Kyle Busch, Chip Ganassi Racing’s Kurt Busch and Joe Gibbs Racing’s Denny Hamlin are set to round out the top 10 in seventh, eighth, ninth and 10th place in their #2 Ford, #18 Toyota, #1 Chevrolet and #11 Toyota, respectively.

Based on the random draw format, 12 drivers had the chance to take the pole position for this race. The two who failed to even draw top 10 starting positions were Hendrick Motorsports’ Chase Elliott and Wood Brothers Racing’s Matt DiBenedetto, who are set to start in 11th and 12th place in their #9 Chevrolet and #21 Ford, respectively.

Here is the full starting lineup for the 2020 Super Start Batteries 400 at Kansas Speedway.

Starting Lineup
1st – Kevin Harvick
2nd – Joey Logano
3rd – Aric Almirola
4th – Ryan Blaney
5th – Martin Truex Jr.
6th – Alex Bowman
7th – Brad Keselowski
8th – Kyle Busch
9th – Kurt Busch
10th – Denny Hamlin
11th – Chase Elliott
12th – Matt DiBenedetto
13th – Chris Buescher
14th – Matt Kenseth
15th – William Byron
16th – Austin Dillon
17th – Bubba Wallace
18th – Ryan Newman
19th – Clint Bowyer
20th – Jimmie Johnson
21st – Erik Jones
22nd – Christopher Bell
23rd – Tyler Reddick
24th – Cole Custer
25th – Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
26th – Garrett Smithley
27th – Michael McDowell
28th – J.J Yeley
29th – Brennan Poole
30th – John Hunter Nemechek
31st – Corey LaJoie
32nd – Quin Houff
33rd – Josh Bilicki
34th – Joey Gase
35th – Ryan Preece
36th – Ty Dillon
37th – Daniel Suarez
38th – Timmy Hill
39th – Reed Sorenson
40th – B.J. McLeod

Next: Top 10 NASCAR drivers of all-time

NBC Sports Network is set to broadcast the Super Start Batteries 400 live from Kansas Speedway beginning at 7:30 p.m. ET on Thursday, July 23. This race is set to lead into an off weekend for the Cup Series, the first since before the sport returned to action following the hiatus.

Load Comments