NASCAR: New Hampshire starting lineup – Aric Almirola on pole

Aric Almirola drew the pole position for this Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, his third via a random draw.

Stewart-Haas Racing’s Aric Almirola is set to lead the field to the green flag to start the 20th of 36 races on the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series schedule at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, the Foxwoods Resort Casino 301.

Almirola took the pole position for this 301-lap race around the four-turn, 1.058-mile (1.703-kilometer) oval in Loudon, New Hampshire following a random draw.

This was the 12th random draw in 16 races since NASCAR returned to action after an unexpected 10-week hiatus caused by the coronavirus pandemic that lasted from Sunday, March 8 through Sunday, May 17.

Almirola’s pole is already his third pole from a random draw, as he also took he pole positions for the first race at Pocono Raceway in late June and then again for the race at Texas Motor Speedway earlier this month.

Almirola has been eligible for a top 12 starting position in 10 of these 12 random draws, and he has not yet drawn outside of the top five. He is set to start alongside Joe Gibbs Racing’s Denny Hamlin on the front row in second place in his #11 Toyota.

One driver for each of the three manufacturers drew a top three starting position, as Hendrick Motorsports’ Chase Elliott is set to start in third place in his #9 Chevrolet. Team Penske’s Brad Keselowski is set to start beside him on the second row in fourth in his #2 Ford.

Joe Gibbs Racing’s Kyle Busch and Stewart-Haas Racing’s Clint Bowyer are set to start on the third row in fifth and sixth place in their #18 Toyota and #14 Ford, respectively.

Stewart-Haas Racing’s Kevin Harvick, Hendrick Motorsports’ Alex Bowman, Team Penske’s Joey Logano and Chip Ganassi Racing’s Kurt Busch are set to round out the top 10 in seventh, eighth, ninth and 10th place in their #4 Ford, #88 Chevrolet, #22 Ford and #1 Chevrolet, respectively.

Based on the random draw qualifying format, 12 drivers had an equal chance to take the pole position. The two drivers who had a chance to do so but were unable to draw even a top 10 starting position were Joe Gibbs Racing’s Martin Truex Jr. and Team Penske’s Ryan Blaney, who are set to start in 11th and 12th place in their #19 Toyota and #12 Ford, respectively.

Here is the full starting lineup for the 2020 Foxwoods Resort Casino 301 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Starting Lineup
1st – Aric Almirola
2nd – Denny Hamlin
3rd – Chase Elliott
4th – Brad Keselowski
5th – Kyle Busch
6th – Clint Bowyer
7th – Kevin Harvick
8th – Alex Bowman
9th – Joey Logano
10th – Kurt Busch
11th – Martin Truex Jr.
12th – Ryan Blaney
13th – Tyler Reddick
14th – Cole Custer
15th – Bubba Wallace
16th – William Byron
17th – Erik Jones
18th – Michael McDowell
19th – Matt DiBenedetto
20th – Jimmie Johnson
21st – Matt Kenseth
22nd – Ryan Newman
23rd – Austin Dillon
24th – Chris Buescher
25th – Ty Dillon
26th – James Davison
27th – Garrett Smithley
28th – Joey Gase
29th – J.J Yeley
30th – Ryan Preece
31st – Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
32nd – Quin Houff
33rd – Corey LaJoie
34th – Brennan Poole
35th – Christopher Bell
36th – John Hunter Nemechek
37th – Daniel Suarez
38th – Timmy Hill

Tune in to NBC Sports Network at 3:00 p.m. ET this Sunday, August 2 for the live broadcast of the Foxwoods Resort Casino 301 from New Hampshire Motor Speedway.