Formula 1: Turkey results, standings – Lewis Hamilton prevails

Lewis Hamilton prevailed in the Turkish Grand Prix at Intercity Istanbul Park to win for the 10th time in the 2020 Formula 1 season.

It wasn’t a typical dominant effort by Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton, but he ended up with a whopping 31.633-second victory at a wet Intercity Istanbul Park in the Turkish Grand Prix for his fourth consecutive win and his 10th win in the first 14 races of the Formula 1 season. The victory was the 94th of his career, extending the all-time record.

Several drivers appeared to be in the best position to win the race, which was one of the more entertaining races of the 2020 season, at various points throughout its 58-lap duration, but it was the usual suspects who prevailed.

Hamilton started this race around the 14-turn, 3.317-mile (5.338-kilometer) road course in Tuzla, Turkey in sixth place, and he was able to drive to the front on intermediate tires in the late stages despite falling more than 20 seconds behind the leader earlier on.

Racing Point’s Sergio Perez tied his career-best result and secured Racing Point’s best-ever result with a second place finish after leading a few laps, and Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel finished in third to secure his first podium finish of the season.

Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc, who passed Perez for second place with just a few corners to go on the final lap, fell back to fourth behind Perez and his teammate following a chaotic sprint to the finish. McLaren’s Carlos Sainz Jr. secured a quiet fifth place finish ahead of Red Bull teammates Max Verstappen and Alexander Albon, both of whom appeared poised to win earlier on in the race, in sixth and seventh, respectively. McLaren’s Lando Norris, who ran the race’s fastest lap, finished in eighth.

Racing Point’s Lance Stroll, who dominated the early stages of the race after starting from the pole position for the first time in his career and also appeared to be in line for his first career victory, faded late and finished in a disappointing ninth place ahead of Renault’s Daniel Ricciardo in 10th.

Hamilton’s win secured him his seventh career world championship, tying Michael Schumacher’s all-time record. Teammate Valtteri Bottas, the only remaining driver other than Hamilton in the championship battle entering this race, had a disastrous race and finished in 14th after spinning at least four times.

The race featured six lead changes among drivers, with Stroll leading a race-high 32 laps. Hamilton led the final 22 laps en route to the win. Perez, Verstappen and Albon also led.

Here are the full race results of the 2020 Turkish Grand Prix at Intercity Istanbul Park.

Race Results
1st – Lewis Hamilton
2nd – Sergio Perez
3rd – Sebastian Vettel
4th – Charles Leclerc
5th – Carlos Sainz Jr.
6th – Max Verstappen
7th – Alexander Albon
8th – Lando Norris
9th – Lance Stroll
10th – Daniel Ricciardo
11th – Esteban Ocon
12th – Daniil Kvyat
13th – Pierre Gasly
14th – Valtteri Bottas
15th – Kimi Raikkonen
16th – George Russell
17th – Kevin Magnussen
18th – Romain Grosjean
19th – Nicholas Latifi
20th – Antonio Giovinazzi

Here are the updated driver standings and constructor standings following Hamilton’s win.

Driver standings

Rank – Driver: Points (Behind)
1st – Lewis Hamilton: 307 (0)
2nd – Valtteri Bottas: 197 (-110)
3rd – Max Verstappen: 170 (-137)
4th – Sergio Perez: 100 (-207)
5th – Charles Leclerc: 97 (-210)
6th – Daniel Ricciardo: 96 (-211)
7th – Carlos Sainz Jr.: 75 (-232)
8th – Lando Norris: 74 (-233)
9th – Alexander Albon: 70 (-237)
10th – Pierre Gasly: 63 (-244)
11th – Lance Stroll: 59 (-248)
12th – Esteban Ocon: 40 (-267)
13th – Sebastian Vettel: 33 (-274)
14th – Daniil Kvyat: 26 (-281)
15th – Nico Hulkenberg: 10 (-297)
16th – Antonio Giovinazzi: 4 (-303)
16th – Kimi Raikkonen: 4 (-303)
18th – Romain Grosjean: 2 (-305)
19th – Kevin Magnussen: 1 (-306)
20th – Nicholas Latifi: 0 (-307)
20th – George Russell: 0 (-307)

Constructor standings

Rank – Constructor: Points (Behind)
1st – Mercedes: 504 (-)
2nd – Red Bull Racing-Honda: 240 (-264)
3rd – Racing Point-Mercedes: 154 (-350)
4th – McLaren-Renault: 149 (-355)
5th – Renault: 136 (-368)
6th – Ferrari: 130 (-374)
7th – AlphaTauri-Honda: 89 (-415)
8th – Alfa Romeo Racing-Ferrari: 8 (-496)
9th – Haas-Ferrari: 3 (-501)
10th – Williams-Mercedes: 0 (-504)

Bahrain International Circuit is scheduled to host the next two races on the 2020 Formula 1 schedule, with the first of those two scheduled to take place on Sunday, November 29. This race, the Bahrain Grand Prix, is set to be broadcast live on ESPN beginning at 10:10 a.m. ET.