NASCAR: The one team with no confirmed drivers for 2021

Rick Ware Racing, NASCAR (Photo by Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images)
Rick Ware Racing, NASCAR (Photo by Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images) /

There is still one NASCAR Cup Series team without any confirmed drivers for the 2021 season, and that team happens to be a team with four chartered cars.

A total of 31 drivers have been confirmed for the full 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season thus far, and there are only a few seats still open among chartered entries.

Front Row Motorsports have not yet confirmed who will be the teammate to Michael McDowell behind the wheel of the #38 Ford following the unexpected departure of John Hunter Nemechek after just one season, and Spire Motorsports have not yet solidified their rotation behind the wheel of the #77 Chevrolet alongside full-time driver Corey LaJoie.

But one of the 17 teams set to utilize at least one of the 36 charters for the 2021 season has not yet made any announcements regarding their driver lineup for next year.

That team happens to have four charters and four open seats.

More from NASCAR Cup Series

Rick Ware Racing, which tend to run multiple drivers in each of their cars, have not yet confirmed any of their drivers for 2021. They are set to run the #15 car following their acquisition of Premium Motorsports to go along with their #51 car, #52 car and #53 car.

The #51 car is still set to be classified as a Petty Ware Racing entry due to the fact that Rick Ware’s team has a long-term partnership with Richard Petty Motorsports to use one of their charters. But this car is fully prepared by Rick Ware Racing. Richard Petty Motorsports are in no way involved in its operation.

There are a few other teams, such as Kaulig Racing, NY Racing Team and Gaunt Brothers Racing, which have not confirmed any drivers for the 2021 season yet, but none of them are chartered teams and it is unlikely that any of them will run the full 36-race schedule.

Last season, Rick Ware Racing’s driver lineup rotation consisted of Joey Gase, Garrett Smithley, James Davison, Josh Bilicki, B.J. McLeod, J.J. Yeley, Gray Gaulding, Cody Ware, David Ragan, Bayley Currey and David Starr.

Gase and Yeley nearly ran full schedules for the team, with both spending time in different cars. Brennan Poole drove full-time for Premium Motorsports.

dark. Next. Top 10 NASCAR drivers of all-time

The 63rd annual Daytona 500 is scheduled to get the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season underway at Daytona International Speedway on Sunday, February 14. Qualifying is scheduled to take place on Wednesday, February 10.