NASCAR: 3 drivers penalized before Homestead

Alex Bowman, Hendrick Motorsports, NASCAR (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)
Alex Bowman, Hendrick Motorsports, NASCAR (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images) /

Three drivers have been penalized and will be sent to the rear ahead of today’s NASCAR Cup Series race at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

The starting lineup for today’s NASCAR Cup Series race, the third of the 36-race 2021 season, at Homestead-Miami Speedway was set via the starting lineup formula which was introduced last August.

However, that will not be the exact order in which the 38 cars in the field take the green flag for today’s 267-lap Dixie Vodka 400 at the four-turn, 1.5-mile (2.414-kilometer) oval in Homestead, Florida.

Three drivers are set to drop to the rear on the pace laps.

Those three drivers are Alex Bowman, Corey LaJoie and James Davison.

More from NASCAR Cup Series

The #48 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet of Bowman and the #7 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet of LaJoie will be sent to the rear as a result of unapproved adjustments. They were slated to have started in the inside lane in 13th and 25th place, respectively, and will drop to the tail end of that line.

They will be joined by the #15 Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet of Davison, which is set to drop to the rear end after also having been initially slated to start on the inside lane in 29th place. The #15 Chevrolet failed pre-race inspection twice.


Here is the updated starting lineup for the 2021 Dixie Vodka 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway. Note that none of the drivers in the event positions have changed since the lineup’s initial release.

Starting Lineup
1st – Denny Hamlin
2nd – Joey Logano
3rd – Christopher Bell
4th – Kevin Harvick
5th – Kurt Busch
6th – Michael McDowell
7th – Brad Keselowski
8th – Ryan Preece
9th – Martin Truex Jr.
10th – Cole Custer
11th – Chase Elliott
12th – Chris Buescher
13th – Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
14th – Ryan Blaney
15th – Kyle Larson
16th – Aric Almirola
17th – Bubba Wallace
18th – Erik Jones
19th – Daniel Suarez
20th – Justin Haley
21st – Ryan Newman
22nd – Austin Dillon
23rd – Anthony Alfredo
24th – Kyle Busch
25th – William Byron
26th – Cody Ware
27th – Timmy Hill
28th – Garrett Smithley
29th – Tyler Reddick
30th – Chase Briscoe
31st – Matt DiBenedetto
32nd – Ross Chastain
33rd – Alex Bowman
34th – B.J. McLeod
35th – Corey LaJoie
36th – Josh Bilicki
37th – James Davison
38th – Quin Houff

Next. Top 25 NASCAR drivers of all-time. dark

Tune in to Fox at 3:30 p.m. ET this afternoon for the live broadcast of the Dixie Vodka 400 from Homestead-Miami Speedway.