NASCAR set for another new Cup Series team in 2022

NASCAR is set to welcome another team to the Cup Series on a full-time basis in the 2022 season after three new teams joined in 2021.

Before the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series season began, Kaulig Racing team owner Matt Kaulig confirmed that his team would be competing in the series on a part-time basis throughout the year.

The full-time Xfinity Series team, which field entries for Jeb Burton (#10 Chevrolet), Justin Haley (#11 Chevrolet) and A.J. Allmendinger (#16 Chevrolet), made their Cup Series debut last year with Haley in the season-opening Daytona 500 at Daytona International Speedway.

Their 2021 plans include the four superspeedway races and the seven road course races. After making their third start of the season with Grala behind the wheel of the #16 Chevrolet at Talladega Superspeedway this past Sunday, Kaulig spoke about the team’s future at stock car racing’s highest level.

On SiriusXM’s The Morning Drive earlier this week, he confirmed that Kaulig Racing have plans to compete full-time in the Cup Series next year.

This news comes amid a season that features three new full-time Cup Series teams: the Michael Jordan and Denny Hamlin co-owned 23XI Racing, the Justin Marks and Pitbull co-owned Trackhouse Racing Team, and the B.J. McLeod and Matt Tifft co-owned Live Fast Motorsports.

Those three teams each field one entry. Kaulig stated that Kaulig Racing will field “at least one car” in the 2021 Cup Series season, leaving the door open for two or more full-time entries or perhaps a full-time entry plus a second entry to run in select races, similar to what they’re doing with their part-time entry this year.

But for now, the team have an Xfinity Series championship to win, and the next race on the schedule is the Steakhouse Elite 200, which is set to be broadcast live on Fox Sports 1 from Darlington Raceway on Saturday, May 8 beginning at 1:00 p.m. ET.

Kaulig Racing have won two of the season’s first eight races; Allmendinger won at Las Vegas Motor Speedway and Burton won at Talladega Superspeedway. All three of their drivers are in the top six in the point standings. Burton is in fourth place while Haley is in fifth and Allmendinger is in sixth.