IndyCar team changes name ahead of 2023 season

Pato O'Ward, Arrow McLaren, IndyCar (Photo by Logan Riely/Getty Images)
Pato O'Ward, Arrow McLaren, IndyCar (Photo by Logan Riely/Getty Images) /

Arrow McLaren SP have officially changed their name to Arrow McLaren ahead of the 2023 IndyCar season, a move that was widely anticipated.

When Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports joined forces with worldwide racing juggernaut McLaren ahead of the 2020 IndyCar season to form Arrow McLaren SP, switching from Honda to Chevrolet in the process, many began to see the writing on the wall.

That writing on the wall became even clearer in 2021, when Schmidt and Peterson, whose names remained represented in the team’s name via the “SP”, sold 75% of the team to McLaren Racing.

Ahead of the 2023 season, the team have officially changed their name from Arrow McLaren SP to Arrow McLaren, dropping the “SP” despite the fact that no changes have been made to the roles of Schmidt and Peterson within the team.

The 2023 season is set to be Arrow McLaren’s first season fielding three full-time entries. Arrow McLaren SP fielded two in each of the last three seasons.

Pato O’Ward, who joined the team in 2020, is set for his fourth season behind the wheel of the No. 5 Chevrolet. Felix Rosenqvist, who joined the team the following year, is set for his first season behind the wheel of the No. 6 Chevrolet after spending the last two years behind the wheel of the No. 7 Chevrolet.

Alexander Rossi, who spent the last seven seasons competing for Andretti Autosport, is set to join the team and drive the No. 7 Chevrolet.

This name change marks the sixth name change for the team since they began competing as Sam Schmidt Motorsports in 2001. In 2012, they were known as Schmidt-Hamilton Motorsports, and in 2013, they were known as Schmidt Peterson Hamilton HP Motorsports.

The switch to Schmidt Peterson Motorsports in 2014 was the final change until 2019, when Arrow Electronics upped their commitment to the team and became their title partner. The team became Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports, their final name before becoming Arrow McLaren SP in 2020.

The team have earned a total of 11 IndyCar wins, including four since the addition of McLaren. O’Ward is responsible for all four of those wins, having won twice in each of the last two seasons.

Next. All-time IndyCar wins list. dark

The 2023 is scheduled to get underway on the streets of St. Petersburg, Florida on Sunday, March 5. The Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg presented by RP Funding is set to be broadcast live on NBC and Peacock.