Indy 500: Early look at the 2020 entry list

With the 104th running of the Indy 500 scheduled to take place later this month, take a glance at the updated race entry list.

For the first time ever, the month is August and the Indianapolis 500 is scheduled to take place during it. Back on Thursday, March 26, the decision was made by IndyCar officials to postpone the 104th running of the “Greatest Spectacle in Racing” from Sunday, May 24 to Sunday, August 23 as a result of the coronavirus pandemic.

Never before in the history of the race, which goes back to the year 1911, has the race been held outside of the month of May, although there were six years during which it did not happen at all due to the World War I (1917 and 1918) and World War II (1942 through 1945).

Despite schedule overhaul after schedule overhaul, which left America’s top open-wheel racing series with just seven of the 15 venues that were initially featured on the 17-race calendar last September, the competition side of the Indy 500 is slated to remain mostly the same compared to other years.

Practice is scheduled to begin at the four-turn, 2.5-mile (4.023-kilometer) oval in Speedway, Indiana on Tuesday, August 11, and there is slated to be practice each day through Sunday, August 16.

Qualifying is scheduled to take place over its traditional two-day period on Saturday, August 15 and Sunday, August 16, and Carb Day practice is set to mark the final pre-race on-track activity on Friday, August 21.

The race itself, however, has been bumped back by about two hours. NBC’s live broadcast is scheduled to begin at 1:00 p.m. ET on Sunday, August 23 as opposed to 11:00 a.m. ET, and the green flag is set to wave to get what is the 14-race season’s ninth race underway at roughly 2:30 p.m. ET as opposed to 12:30 p.m. ET.

With the race coming up just three weekends from now, let’s take a look at an updated entry list for the first time since early April. Thus far, 31 drivers have been confirmed and 32 cars are on the provisional entry list, although it looks as though more than 33 cars will be entered. This would mean that there will be bumping.

Full-time drivers

A.J. Foyt Enterprises

  • Charlie Kimball, #4 Chevrolet

Andretti Autosport

  • Zach Veach, #26 Honda
  • Alexander Rossi, #27 Honda
  • Ryan Hunter-Reay, #28 Honda
  • Colton Herta, #88 Honda (Andretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport)
  • Marco Andretti, #98 Honda (Andretti Herta Autosport with Marco Andretti and Curb-Agajanian)

Arrow McLaren SP

  • Patricio O’Ward, #5 Chevrolet
  • Oliver Askew, #7 Chevrolet

Chip Ganassi Racing

  • Marcus Ericsson, #8 Honda
  • Scott Dixon, #9 Honda
  • Felix Rosenqvist, #10 Honda

Dale Coyne Racing

  • Santino Ferrucci, #18 Honda (with Vasser-Sullivan)
  • Alex Palou, #55 Honda (with Team Goh)

Ed Carpenter Racing

  • Rinus VeeKay, #21 Chevrolet

Meyer Shank Racing

  • Jack Harvey, #60 Honda

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

  • Graham Rahal, #15 Honda
  • Takuma Sato, #30 Honda

Team Penske

  • Josef Newgarden, #1 Chevrolet
  • Will Power, #12 Chevrolet
  • Simon Pagenaud, #22 Chevrolet


  • Conor Daly (runs the road and street courses for Ed Carpenter Racing and the non-Indy 500 oval races for Carlin)
    • #47 Chevrolet – Ed Carpenter Racing (Indy 500, third car)

Part-time drivers

A.J. Foyt Enterprises

  • Tony Kanaan, #14 Chevrolet
  • Dalton Kellett, #TBD Chevrolet

Andretti Autosport

  • James Hinchcliffe, #29 Honda


  • Max Chilton, #59 Chevrolet

Dreyer & Reinbold Racing

  • Sage Karam, #24 Chevrolet

Ed Carpenter Racing

  • Ed Carpenter, #20 Chevrolet

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

  • Spencer Pigot, #45 Honda (with Citrone/Buhl Autosport)

Indy 500 one-offs

Arrow McLaren SP

  • Fernando Alonso, #66 Chevrolet

Dreyer & Reinbold Racing

  • J.R. Hildebrand, #TBD Chevrolet

Team Penske

  • Helio Castroneves, #3 Chevrolet

Other (confirmed)

  • DragonSpeed, #81 Chevrolet (Driver TBD)

Other (speculated)

  • Carlin, #31 Chevrolet (second car)
  • Dale Coyne Racing, #TBD Honda (third car)
  • Juncos Racing, #32 Chevrolet (Kyle Kaiser?)
  • RC Enerson in a Top Gun Racing entry
Next: Top 10 Indianapolis 500 drivers of all-time

Tune in to NBC at 1:00 p.m. ET on Sunday, August 23 for the live broadcast of the 104th running of the Indianapolis 500 from Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Load Comments