IndyCar: Mid-Ohio results, standings – Colton Herta wins

Colton Herta led a dominant performance by Andretti Autosport at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course to secure his and the team’s first win of the 2020 IndyCar season.

Up until today, the 2020 IndyCar season had been a disappointing one to say the least for Andretti Autosport. But in the second race of the Honda Indy 200 doubleheader at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, they swept the podium.

Andretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport’s Colton Herta secured his first win of the season to become the seventh different driver to win a race through the first 11 races of the 14-race campaign behind the wheel of his #88 Honda. This victory is the third of his career.

He started the 75-lap race around the 13-turn, 2.258-mile (3.634-kilometer) natural terrain road course in Lexington, Ohio from the pole position and won it by 1.3826 seconds over teammate Alexander Rossi in second place behind the wheel of his #27 Honda. Ryan Hunter-Reay finished 1.1139 seconds behind Rossi in third behind the wheel of his #28 Honda.

As much as it was a dominant day for Andretti Autosport, it was also a dominant day for Honda as a whole, despite seeing two drivers, Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon and Andretti Herta Autosport’s Marco Andretti, make key errors in turn one to fall out of contention.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal finished in fourth place behind the wheel of his #15 Honda ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Marcus Ericsson in fifth behind the wheel of his #8 Honda, giving the manufacturer a top five sweep for their seventh win of the year.

The Team Penske trio led Chevrolet in sixth, seventh and eighth place in their #22 Chevrolet, #12 Chevrolet and #1 Chevrolet, respectively, with Simon Pagenaud finishing ahead of Will Power and Josef Newgarden. Arrow McLaren SP’s Pato O’Ward finished in ninth behind the wheel of his #5 Chevrolet.

Dixon, who still owns a healthy lead over Newgarden and O’Ward in the championship standings, rebounded to finish in 10th behind the wheel of his #9 Honda. Four drivers exchanged the lead five times, with Herta leading a race-high 57 laps.

Herta avoided chaos at the start when fellow front row starter Santino Ferrucci of Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser-Sullivan went off the track and rejoined in a dangerous manner, leading to contact with teammate Alex Palou. That contact led to both Palou and Chip Ganassi Racing’s Felix Rosenqvist crashing out of the race.

While those two drivers were the only two of the 23 who competed in the race who failed to finish it, the race did feature an additional caution flag period when A.J. Foyt Enterprises rookie Dalton Kellett went off course.

Here are the full race results of the second race of the 2020 Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Race Results
1st – Colton Herta
2nd – Alexander Rossi
3rd – Ryan Hunter-Reay
4th – Graham Rahal
5th – Marcus Ericsson
6th – Simon Pagenaud
7th – Will Power
8th – Josef Newgarden
9th – Pato O’Ward
10th – Scott Dixon
11th – Rinus VeeKay
12th – Jack Harvey
13th – Max Chilton
14th – Santino Ferrucci
15th – Oliver Askew
16th – Conor Daly
17th – Zach Veach
18th – Takuma Sato
19th – Charlie Kimball
20th – Marco Andretti
21st – Dalton Kellett
22nd – Felix Rosenqvist
23rd – Alex Palou

Here are the updated championship standings following Herta’s win.

Rank – Driver: Points (Behind)
1st – Scott Dixon: 456 (0)
2nd – Josef Newgarden: 384 (-72)
3rd – Pato O’Ward: 338 (-118)
4th – Colton Herta: 327 (-129)
5th – Will Power: 306 (-150)
6th – Graham Rahal: 301 (-155)
7th – Takuma Sato: 300 (-156)
8th – Simon Pagenaud: 277 (-179)
9th – Ryan Hunter-Reay: 260 (-196)
10th – Santino Ferrucci: 249 (-207)
11th – Felix Rosenqvist: 244 (-212)
12th – Marcus Ericsson: 230 (-226)
12th – Alexander Rossi: 230 (-226)
14th – Jack Harvey: 225 (-231)
15th – Rinus VeeKay: 224 (-232)
16th – Conor Daly: 196 (-260)
17th – Alex Palou: 185 (-271)
18th – Oliver Askew: 181 (-275)
19th – Charlie Kimball: 170 (-286)
20th – Zach Veach: 166 (-290)
21st – Marco Andretti: 153 (-303)
22nd – Tony Kanaan: 106 (-350)
23rd – Max Chilton: 99 (-357)
24th – James Hinchcliffe: 88 (-368)
25th – Ed Carpenter: 81 (-375)
26th – Dalton Kellett: 56 (-400)
27th – Helio Castroneves: 38 (-418)
28th – J.R. Hildebrand: 28 (-428)
29th – Sage Karam: 19 (-437)
30th – Fernando Alonso: 18 (-438)
31st – Spencer Pigot: 17 (-439)
32nd – Ben Hanley: 14 (-442)
33rd – James Davison: 10 (-446)

The next race on the 2020 IndyCar schedule is the first of two races of the IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course. These two races are scheduled to take place on Friday, October 2 and Saturday, October 3, and they are set to be broadcast live on USA Network and NBC beginning at 3:30 p.m. ET and 2:30 p.m. ET, respectively.