IndyCar: Indianapolis results, standings – Will Power leads every lap

Will Power dominated the second race of the IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix doubleheader at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

Team Penske’s Will Power started from the pole position behind the wheel of his #12 Chevrolet and led every lap en route to his fourth IndyCar victory at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

His victory in the second race of the IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix doubleheader is his second victory of the 2020 season, and it is his 39th career victory, tying him for fifth place on the all-time wins list with Al Unser.

Power held off Andretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport’s Colton Herta to win the 75-lap race around the 13-turn, 2.439-mile (3.925-kilometer) natural terrain road course in Speedway, Indiana by 0.8932 seconds. Chevrolet has now won six races this year, one shy of Honda’s mark of seven with one race to go.

Herta, a three-time race winner who had never finished on the podium in non-wins, made a late charge on Power behind the wheel of his #88 Honda, including passing Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi for second place, but it was not enough.

Rossi ended up in third place for his fourth consecutive podium finish behind the wheel of his #27 Honda, but he still hasn’t won a race this year. Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden again closed in on championship rival Scott Dixon of Chip Ganassi Racing with a fourth place finish behind the wheel of his #1 Chevrolet. Dixon finished in eighth behind the wheel of his #9 Honda, ending a streak of three straight races without a top eight finish.

Dixon leads Newgarden by 32 points heading to the season finale on the streets of St. Petersburg.

Arrow McLaren SP’s Pato O’Ward finished in fifth place behind the wheel of his #5 Chevrolet ahead of Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey in sixth behind the wheel of his #60 Honda. Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal finished in seventh behind the wheel of his #15 Honda.

Dale Coyne Racing with Team Goh rookie Alex Palou and Team Penske’s Simon Pagenaud rounded out the top 10 in ninth and 10th place behind the wheels of their #55 Honda and #22 Chevrolet, respectively.

The race ran caution-free, and Power led every lap. Of the 25 drivers who competed in the race, nobody failed to finish.

Here are the full race results of the second race of the 2020 IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

Race Results
1st – Will Power
2nd – Colton Herta
3rd – Alexander Rossi
4th – Josef Newgarden
5th – Pato O’Ward
6th – Jack Harvey
7th – Graham Rahal
8th – Scott Dixon
9th – Alex Palou
10th – Simon Pagenaud
11th – Felix Rosenqvist
12th – Santino Ferrucci
13th – James Hinchcliffe
14th – Takuma Sato
15th – Marcus Ericsson
16th – Ryan Hunter-Reay
17th – Rinus VeeKay
18th – Sebastien Bourdais
19th – Max Chilton
20th – Conor Daly
21st – Helio Castroneves
22nd – Marco Andretti
23rd – Charlie Kimball
24th – Sage Karam
25th – Dalton Kellett

Here are the updated championship standings following Power’s win.

Rank – Driver: Points (Behind)
1st – Scott Dixon: 502 (0)
2nd – Josef Newgarden: 470 (-32)
3rd – Colton Herta: 401 (-101)
4th – Will Power: 388 (-114)
5th – Pato O’Ward: 376 (-126)
6th – Graham Rahal: 354 (-148)
7th – Takuma Sato: 328 (-174)
8th – Simon Pagenaud: 311 (-191)
9th – Alexander Rossi: 305 (-197)
10th – Felix Rosenqvist: 294 (-208)
11th – Ryan Hunter-Reay: 285 (-217)
12th – Santino Ferrucci: 283 (-219)
13th – Jack Harvey: 277 (-225)
14th – Rinus VeeKay: 274 (-228)
15th – Marcus Ericsson: 265 (-237)
16th – Conor Daly: 224 (-278)
17th – Alex Palou: 220 (-282)
18th – Charlie Kimball: 194 (-308)
19th – Oliver Askew: 181 (-321)
20th – Zach Veach: 166 (-336)
20st – Marco Andretti: 166 (-336)
22nd – Max Chilton: 129 (-373)
23rd – James Hinchcliffe: 121 (-381)
24th – Tony Kanaan: 106 (-396)
25th – Ed Carpenter: 81 (-421)
26th – Dalton Kellett: 67 (-435)
27th – Helio Castroneves: 57 (-445)
28th – Sage Karam: 32 (-470)
29th – J.R. Hildebrand: 28 (-474)
30th – Sebastien Bourdais: 21 (-481)
31st – Fernando Alonso: 18 (-484)
32nd – Spencer Pigot: 17 (-485)
33rd – Ben Hanley: 14 (-488)
34th – James Davison: 10 (-492)

Next: Top 10 IndyCar drivers of all-time

The next race on the 2020 IndyCar schedule is the 14th and final race of the season, the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg. This race is set to be broadcast live from the streets of St. Petersburg on NBC beginning at 2:30 p.m. ET on Sunday, October 25.